Quick Answer: What Is The First Step An Original Classification Authority OCA Must Take When?

Which must be approved and signed by a original classification authority?

SCI must be approved and signed by a cognizant original classification authority (OCA)..

Who authorized to classify top secret matter?

(a) Top Secret. The authority to classify information originally as Top Secret may be exercised only by: (1) the President; (2) agency heads and officials designated by the President in the Federal Register; and (3) officials delegated this authority pursuant to Section 1.2(d).

What is Cosmic Top Secret?

COSMIC TOP SECRET (CTS) – This security classification is applied to information the unauthorized disclosure of which would cause exceptionally grave damage to NATO. (NOTE: The marking “COSMIC” is applied to TOP SECRET material to signify that it is the property of NATO. The term “NATO TOP SECRET” is not used.)

What are the 7 classification levels?

There are seven main taxonomic ranks: kingdom, phylum or division, class, order, family, genus, species.

What is the purpose of Executive Order 13526?

This order prescribes a uniform system for classifying, safeguarding, and declassifying national security information, including information relating to defense against transnational terrorism. Our democratic principles require that the American people be informed of the activities of their Government.

What is the original classification authority?

Original Classification Authority: An individual authorized to classify information in the first instance including individuals who are designated in writing as “Acting” officials in any of the delegated positions. The OCA positions are listed in Instruction 10.03, and they may not be delegated further.

What information is listed in the Classification Authority block on a document?

The classification authority block, or CAB, identifies the authority and duration of classification determination. It indicates who the document was classified by, derived from, what it was downgraded to (if applicable), and when it was declassified.

What is Top Secret Umbra?

UMBRA was the five-letter code word used for Category III sources. (Other words: MORAY and SPOKE). If a document was stamped TOP SECRET UMBRA at the top and the bottom, you’d know that the agency went to great lengths to obtain the embedded information.

What is the most classified document?

Top Secret is the highest level of classified information. Information is further compartmented so that specific access using a code word after top secret is a legal way to hide collective and important information. Such material would cause “exceptionally grave damage” to national security if made publicly available.

What is the first step in Original Classification Authority must take when originally classifying information?

The OCA must first determine if the information is official when they are officially classifying information. It means that the information should be owned by, produced for or be under U.S government’s control.

Who can authorize an individual to originally classify information?

Executive Order 13526 establishes the legal authority for certain officials within the Executive Branch of the Federal government to designate classified national security information. Original classification is the first step in providing protection to this information.

What are secret matters?

SECRET MATTER. 11. Definition. – Information and material (matter) the unauthorized disclosure of which would endanger national security, cause serious injury to the interest or prestige of the nation or of any governmental activity or would be of great advantage to a foreign nation.

What is needed for classified information?

§ 1312.23 Access to classified information. Classified information may be made available to a person only when the possessor of the information establishes that the person has a valid “need to know” and the access is essential to the accomplishment of official government duties.

What are the 3 levels of classified information?

The U.S. classification of information system has three classification levels — Top Secret, Secret, and Confidential — which are defined in EO 12356.

How should the OCA responsible for classifying the KLP 03 system change the classification?

How should the OCA responsible for classifying the KLP-03 system change the classification? The Original Classification Authority (OCA) evaluates information to determine if its unauthorized disclosure could reasonably be expected to cause identifiable or describable damage to national security.