Quick Answer: What Happens If I Delete My Email Account?

What happens if I delete my email account on iPhone?

When you delete a POP3 account from an iOS device, you will lose any mail that’s was stored in the local Sent and Trash folders on the device, as well as mail in the Inbox that has been deleted from the server.

If you don’t want to lose this mail, you should disable the account instead of deleting it: Go to Settings..

What happens when you delete your Gmail account?

If you delete your Google account, there is a lot of data that you lose access to, including: … If you use an Android smartphone, you will also lose access to any contacts linked to this account, as well as any data that is backed up using Android Backup services. Finally, you will also lose the username permanently.

Can you permanently delete an email address?

Deleting a Gmail account is permanent. After going through the process, all of your emails and account settings will be erased. You will no longer be able to use your Gmail address to send or receive emails, and the address will not be made available for anyone else to use in the future.

How long does an email account stay active?

Dormant accounts are de-activated at the end of four months.” Gmail – 9 months. “If you don’t log in to Gmail within three months of it being labeled dormant — or for nine consecutive months — Google may delete the address.”

How do I delete an email account but keep my emails?

Remove an account but keep its email with saving original data fileGo to the E-mail tab;Click to highlight the email account that you will remove;Click the Remove button.Click the Close button at the bottom to exit the dialog box.

How can I remove my email?

This procedure is applicable for many Android devices running Android 4.4 or higher….How to Remove an Email Account from Most Android DevicesFrom the home screen, tap the App drawer > Settings icon > under Accounts, tap the email type to remove. … Tap the Menu icon. … Tap Remove account.More items…•

Does deleting an email delete it from all devices?

If you close an app immediately you have deleted a message, it will not have time to sync back to the server so not only will the delete not happen on all other devices, but you will find the same message reappears on the device where you deleted it next time you open the app.

Does deleting email on iPhone delete from Gmail?

The Gmail app works in the same way on your iPhone/iPad as it does on the web-based app. If you tap the Trash icon, the deleted email will be sent to the Trash folder on the remote web server. … Remember, if you use the IMAP protocol, the email will be deleted from your device, but remains on the server.

Will I lose my emails if I delete my account?

If your account is restored, you will have access to your account, but all of your emails will be permanently deleted no matter what the time frame. Google states that it keeps backups of deleted accounts for around 60 days, though this time varies.

Should I delete my email account?

If you delete the account, your old e-mail address could be reassigned and misused by the new user, the experts say. … The new user could also gain access to services and accounts that are still linked to the e-mail address, which could enable them to shop online in your name or post to social media.

Can I delete my email and make a new one?

Your Gmail address and Google account are basically one and the same thing. A new address would be a completely new and separate account. Yes you could create the new account and attempt to transfer your data from the old account, but only some things in a Google account are transferrable.